Truffles Magazine

Black Bean Hummus

In Food on March 26, 2012 at 11:19 am

  photo source

Beans when made right can be so tasty and lend themselves to so many recipes, beans are very affordable, not to mention they pack quite a nutritious punch.  I love beans almost all but I do have some favorites (the other day I drove to Moe’s Southwest Grill – if you have one near you you must stop in and eat there, its amazing – if not don’t fear not they’re expanding!) I order a burrito aka a Joey (my favorite way is with Chicken, Black beans, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and sour cream… talk about yum I wish I had one right now).

Anyways it got me thinking I wanted to share a recipe with Black Beans and so today’s recipe is courtesy of Melissa d’ Arabian (Host of Ten Dollar Dinners and Food Network. Black Bean Hummus – this is great for those of you who are not of fan of chickpeas (like me) but want to enjoy a tasty, hummus. It would also be great to put out when entertaining, or smear some on a bun with grilled chicken or hamburger. Either way I am sure you will enjoy this and so will the kids.

Black Bean Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 head iceberg lettuce, cut into wedges

Directions

Blend all the ingredients, except the lettuce, in a food processor until almost smooth. Let sit for 15 minutes before serving with iceberg lettuce wedges.

Leave a Reply

