Truffles Magazine

Best Products for Acne

In Beauty, Skincare on February 26, 2012 at 11:14 am

   Photo Source

As promised today I am discussing the acne products I feel are best overall. I hope this list of products will inspire you to try some and make changes to your routine I also feel I recommend products that are in a variety of price points and will work well for any age acne sufferer. I strive in this list to have multiple best products in each category to ensure that everyone can find something in their budget or store near them.

Cleansing

  • In the evening I believe the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) can be a great way to wash away the day’s makeup and prepare skin for your nightly regimen  – please don’t freak out and remember certain OILS are GOOD for your SKIN. This cleansing method is relatively inexpensive and you can custom tailor it but here is my suggestion for brands: Only use organic oils it will make a difference – my favorites is Organic Castor Oil from Mountain Rose Herbs – an because your buying and mixing together it is really a cheap organic cleanser.
  • I also like this soap here (please don’t freak out I know I used the two words acne sufferers hate OIL and SOAP) now your thinking I am CRAZY!  $9.00 for the 5 oz bar.

Toners / Astringents

People seem to have 2 opinions on this and either love using a toner or hate it I am not telling you which is right, but I will tell you this don’t waste $ on store bought toners you can make yours at home for a few cents and only need 2 ingredients: water and apple cider vinegar (ACV) use a 1 cup of water and 1 teaspoon of of ACV add to bottle shake and apply with a cotton ball. Only do this in the evening – you don’t have to do this step everyday but if you feel your overly oil during the day then it can help to swipe your face in the evening. The ACV is $3.49 for 16 oz and will last you a very long time.

Moisturizers

Okay so this is tricky because some people have combination skin, others have dry, while some have completely oil skin of course you can have acne with any skin type. Here are several suggestions:

Argan Oil – this is great for all skin types and you can apply a few drops to moisturize your whole face a little goes a long way. Its priced at $17.00 for 4 oz I have this jar in my bathroom right now and let me tell you it lasts quite awhile. I have used other pricier brands before and I am stating this for clarification you are usually paying for their ads and marketing campaigns MRH is all organic and wonderfully priced.

Jojoba Oil – yes another oil this oil is very close to ones own sebum so don’t worry it won’t clog pores. It also is organic and one of the best priced Jojoba oils on the market.  Its is $14.75 for 8 oz which means this bottle is going to last a really long time (at least 6-12 months)

For those of you with really dry skin but still suffer from acne or maybe you don’t enjoy using an oil this is a good option. Also, some people use natural oils in lieu of store bought serums and this is very effective because serums are able to penetrate the skin at a much deeper level than creams or lotions. With that said I completely understand some people want a traditional moisturizer and with that said these are my favorites. I have included different ones for different price points so please realize I don’t know your personal finances but as someone who has bought every brand of convenience, department, luxury, and spa brand out there I am recommending these.

Moisturizer 1 $69.00 for 1.7 ounces

Moisturizer for Evening $36.95 for 1.7 ounces

a more affordable option is of course using the oils above as they are large bottles and you will be using them sparingly on your skin.

Other Items

Check out this mask which I discussed in an earlier review this is great for acne prone skin – use it 1x per week

This is also a simple mask with common ingredients that you can make yourself

Tea Tree Oil is used as a good spot treatment because of its antibacterial properties – its very drying so you should avoid putting this all over your face or you will start to develop dry skin, however you could just put a drop on the zit itself before bed you can get Tea Tree Oil here

Consider these Pure Skin Supplements from Dr. Murad they help reduce acne by 55% in 6 weeks – if these aren’t in the budget consider buying some zinc, vitamin A, and Omegas to take daily – obviously supplements address internal problems associated with acne so the benefit is that your skin will also clear up where you have body acne as well

Leave a Reply

